Music Schools/Teachers in Bay Area

Please sign-up for listing your info on this page using the form below.


Name of School/TeacherName of the Teacher/head of the schoolEmailPhoneType of instrument or categoryMore about the School/Teacher
Amrita RaoAmrita Raoamritarao1@gmail.com6506605217VocalAmrita is a Hindustani classical and light music vocalist and teacher. She is a B High graded artiste of All India Radio. She has been associated with Shankar Mahadevan Academy as a music tutor for two years and now independently takes music classes online and offline for students of all ages. At a very young age, Amrita sought the tutelage of Pt. Parameshwar Hegde, a renowned artiste and guru who sculpted and refined her vocal abilities; she seeks his expert guidance to this very day. Her first audio CD 'Aagam' featuring ragas Gurjari Todi & Maru Bihag has been recently released and well received by music connoisseurs and general public. Apart from classical music, Amrita has also given performance of various other forms of music such as light classical music in various states of India.
CarnatiCalifornia Surabhi Vijay easymyoosik@gmail.com 347-676-1520Vocal https://carnaticalifornia.com/
Carnatic Music School Sudha Iyengar (aka: Sowmya) sowmya@carnaticmusicschool.com (954) 326-2928Vocal Carnatic Music School was established by Sudha Iyengar (aka: Sowmya) in 2007, in Florida. Sowmya moved to California last year and to San Ramon this summer. Sowmya has received advanced training in Carnatic music from Smt. Akhila Krishnan, a senior Carnatic vocalist from New Delhi, India.  Sowmya has been teaching Carnatic vocal music for more than 20 years and is proficient in teaching both Carnatic Classical and Light classical Bhajans and Sthothrams. You can find more information about her and the classes that the school offers at www.carnaticmusicschool.com. You may also sign up for the various classes at the website. 
Geetha JayaramanGeetha Jayaramangeethadhwani@gmail.com8325730213VeenaSmt. Geetha Jayaraman has been a regular performer at AIR, Chennai, and has also performed on Singapore and Indian television. She was a significant part of the cultural scene in Singapore, having performed at major events including the National Day Parade, and as a member of the Indian Orchestra with whom she has played at several countries.

Since moving to Houston several years ago, and now the Bay Area, Smt. Geetha Jayaraman is active in the community and continues to impart music education through her school, Geethadhwani, conducting lessons in person and online.

She is a disciple of the late Vidushi Rajeshwari Padmanabhan, the 9th generation descendent of the eminent Karaikkudi school, and now continues her journey of musical discovery under Shri Neyveli Santhanagopalan.
Geetha VidyalayaGeetha Iyergeethavidyalaya@gmail.com(510) 809-7474VeenaGeetha Vidyalaya - Teaches Vocal and Veena. In the Bay Area for the past 16 yrs. Many of my students are giving concerts now.
Kalaniketan School of Indian Music and DancePreetha Sheshadris_preets@hotmail.com4082609733Vocal, BharatanatyamKalaniketan School of Indian Music and Dance, located in Santa Clara, aims at working towards the preservation, propagation and expansion of Indian arts and culture through Carnatic music and Bharatanatyam. This school offers classes in both Carnatic music and Bharatanatyam for a selected group of dedicated students.This school also specializes in working with students with special needs.
Students regularly perform at all Bay area cultural as well as fund raising events. They also regularly participate in many competitions and have won prizes. The goal of this school is to make every student enjoy, appreciate and share the rich heritage and culture of India through Carnatic music and Bharatanatyam.
Saripalle ManjulaSaripalle Manjulaprajnamati@yahoo.com 669-246-2555Veena Smt. Saripalle Manjula is a Veena virtuoso and Guru who has been teaching and performing internationally for over 50 years. She was initiated into Carnatic vocal and veena at a very early age under the tutelage of her Gurus Adiraju Narasimham and Vidwan Sri. Peri Rama Sastry of the famed Vizianagaram Sangeeta Kalasala. Smt. Manjula has several compositions and recordings to her credit.
Sarvalaghu Percussion Art Center (SPAC)Ramesh Srinivasancarnatic_percussion@yahoo.com4088216558Mridangamwww.rameshsrinivasan.com
Shruthi Swara LayaAnu Sureshannumanasa@gmail.com5105525824Violin, Mridangam, Kanjira, Ghatam, Veena

Shruthi Swara Laya, USA, is a fine arts institution dedicated to Performing Arts in Indian Music and Dance. It was founded and established by Anuradha Suresh in April 1998 in Fremont, California. Classes are offered in Carnatic Vocal Music in Fremont and Dublin, California.
Shruthilayam school of musicReema Pillaimusic.bayarea@gmail.com6505754539Vocalwww.shruthilayam.com
Sreenidhi MuralidharanSreenidhi Muralidharansreenidhimuralidharan@gmail.com408-664-8886VocalI teach basic (varisais) and advanced (varnams and keerthanais) as well as slokas and small bhajans for kids. Beginners and Intermediate students are welcome. I am a disciple of my mother Smt. Revathi Muralidharan who was a veena vidushi and is a disciple of Smt. Padmavathi Ananthagopalan and Smt. Ramani (Veena). I am also a disciple of Smt. Abhayambika Balamuralikrishna. I have performed at many concerts in India. I have also learnt classical violin.
Subiksha KothandaramanSubiksha Kothandaramansubiksha.kothandaraman@yahoo.com408 744 6071ViolinSmt. K Subiksha has had her musical training under Smt. Lalitha Sivakumar for the past 15 years and her music reflects the D.K. Pattammal bani with clear diction and perfect sruthi alignment. Subiksha has won various awards and prizes including the best vocalist award from Sri Parthasarathy swami sabha. She is also a recipient of the Bharat Kalachar scholarship and is a graded artist of the All India Radio. Subiksha has been performing widely all over India as well as abroad. A chemical engineer by profession, Subiksha is currently pursuing music as her full time career. SaReGaMa has recently released an audio CD titled Thulasidala in Dec 2011.

Her students have been selected for Sangeeth Samraat 2015 finals @ Delaware for Pancharatnam recital in conjunction with the prestigious Dronacharya award conferred to her.
SuNadamkalpagam kowsikkalpagam317@gmail.com5106510226vocalThe Teacher teaches both North and south Indian music. She has been trained by stalwarts from both styles.
Swasti School of MusicSwasti Pandeyswastipandey@yahoo.com4088840700Tabla, Harmonium, Hindustani Vocal - Classical & lightSwasti Pandey is a trained artist and guru in Hindustani classical and light music with over 20 years of experience. She has earned her degree in music from Prayag Sangeet Samiti, Allahabad, in both - Hindustani classical vocal as well as in playing tabla (a rarity for a female). She specializes in khayal singing, thumri, bhajan, ghazal and Bhojpuri folk. She has composed and sung Ramcharitmanas in various ragaas and has judged several music events.

Swasti School of Music provides classes in Indian vocal classical, vocal light, tabla, harmonium and guitar - all under one roof. Kids as well as adult students are taught with special care and patience in a fun filled way. Swasti School of Music organizes several performances for its students. Students are also trained to appear in music exams conducted by Akhil Bhartiya Gandharv Mahavidyala, Mumbai. 
Swetha Srinivasan Swetha Srinivasan swetha.s@AOL.com 4086347042 VocalTeaches shlokas and Carnatic music fundamental lessons for children in San Jose area by providing individual attention so the child enjoys and hence appreciates the necessity to learn our Indian Carnatic Music .

Other Senior Artists/Teachers

Artist NameEmailContact Phone
Anil Narasimhaajayn@stanford.edu, ajayanil@attbi.com408-867-0207
Anuradha Sureshannu_radha@hotmail.com
Arvind Lakshmikanthanalaks@mailexcite.com (a_home@yahoo.com)408-738-4749-H
Asha Rameshashram_94@yahoo.com408-729-4872
Ashwini Khapardekramchandra@yahoo.com
Chitra Srikrishnanchitra_sri@yahoo.com
Harini Krishnan Vikasharinivikas@yahoo.com
Hemmige V. Srivatsansri@narada.org
Jayanthi Umeshjayanthi@hotmail.com 408-996-8251-H
Kala IyerKIyer14424@aol.com
Lakshmi Kolavennuslkola@hotmail.com
Madhurima Madgulavmadhurima@yahoo.com
Mahidhar Thirumalamahithirumala@hotmail.com408-241-8843
Mohan Ranganbambooflute@zoho.com650-926-9767
Mani Varadarajanmani@ramanuja.org408-838-7617-c 408-996-8251-H
Nachiketa Sharmanachiketasharma@yahoo.com, nachi@mail.com
Nandini Ramamurthyn_ramamurthi@yahoo.com
Padmaja Kishorekishore@televital.com (408)441-9129
Padma Rajagopal 510 489 8450
Prasad Jogalekarprasad@luminous.com
Raja Sivamanivjsivamani@aol.com408-248-1285
Ramanarayanan Panchapakesanpanchram@stanford.edu650-498-0982
Ranganayaki Sridharan
Shanthi Shriramshanthishriram@yahoo.com408-855-8963-H
Sowmya Kumar ArjunSOWMYAKUMAR@HOTMAIL.COM805-527-1513-H 650-619-6307-C
Srikanth Charyvainika1@hotmail.com(510)651-8022
Srinath B. Subbarayanssubbara@cisco.com 408 525-2871
Srivardhini Keshavamurthysrivardhinik@yahoo.comH-510-441-1748 o-510-574-8028
c-408-431-3533
Srividya Venkatachalamsrivi_venkat@yahoo.com
rmnthr@yahoo.com
Subhapriya Srivatsansubhapriya@narada.org
Vasanthalakshmipoornima@aol.com